Mallacoota and District Recovery Association Incorporated 2021 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (1st)

MINUTES

Date	Tuesday 17 August
Time	7:00pm
Place	Mallacoota Golf and Country Club, Nelson Drive, Mallacoota 3892 Victoria

1. WELCOME

The acting Chairman, Jenny Lloyd, welcomed and thanked members for their attendance at the Mallacoota and District Recovery Association 2021 inaugural Annual General Meeting.

2. PRESENT AND APOLOGIES

The acting Chairman introduced the Interim Chair, outgoing committee members, members, Zoom invitees and apologies.

2.1 Interim Chair

Andrew Roberts, Ken Spackman

2.2 Outgoing Committee Members

Outgoing Committee Members in attendance were:

DA, David Appleton (Zoom)	GD, Graham Dempster	KW, Kerri Warren
JL, Jenny Lloyd	BWP, Bryce Watts-Parker	BG, Brodie Gaudion
TS, Trindi Suratman	MT, Mark Tregellas	PP, Paul Preston
PH. Peter Hancock	TDG. Tanva De Geus	JB. Jude Benton (Zoom)

2.3 Members attending in-person

MA, Meg Allan	LH, Lyn Harwood	PP, Pat Peel
MA, Michael Amos	TH, Tricia Hiley	AP, Annette Peisley
SA, Sabine Amos	IH, Ian Hobson	AP, Amy Preston
DA, Donald Ashby	JK, Joan Kimm	DP, Debbie Preston
AB, Andrew Benton	KK, Karlheinz Kurz	PP, Paul Preston
PB, Paris Brooke	ML, Margaret Langdon	FR, Fiona Raitt
MC, Marie Connellan	JL, Jenny Lloyd	GR,George Raitt
KC, Katherine Cowden	KM, Kieran Martin	AR, Andrew Roberts
MC, Maryanne Crocker	RM, Rosemary Martin	KS, Ken Spackman
DDG, Dorothy De Geus	JM, Jenny Mason	LS, Lester Sturgess
RDG, Robert De Geus	PM, Peter Mason	TS, Trindi Suratman
TDG, Tanya De Geus	CM, Cassandra McNamara	JT, Judy Taylor
GD, Graham Dempster	LM, Lynette Millard	WT, William Taylor
LD, Laurice Dempster	SM, Stephen Millard	LT, Luke Thompson
ED, Eric Donald	IM, Ian Mitchell	CT, Cate Tregellas
MD, Max Donovan	RM, Rosy Morton	MT, Mark Tregellas
TD, Tammy Donovan	JN, Jesse Nation	EVDM, Etienne Van Der
AD, Alexander Duthie	CN, Charles Nelson	Merwe
ME, Max Elliot	LN, Liza Newby	YVDM, Yvonne Van Der
BG, Brodie Gaudion	TM, Thomas Nolan	Merwe
PG, Peter Giddings	MO'M, Mary O'Malley	JW, James Wallace
BH, Ben Hancock	JO, Jeanette Obri	KW, Kerri Warren
EH, Elsie Hancock	LODB, Leo Op Den Brouw	MW, Matt Watts
PH, Peter Hancock	JP, Julie Parker	BWP, Bryce Watts-Parker JWI, Jill Wood-Ingram

MINUTES - Tuesday 17 August 2021, cont.

Page 2 of 3

2.4 Members attending via Zoom

DA, Donna Allan	EG, Eva Grunden	MRL, Marcus Renwick-Lau
DA, David Appleton	MH, Martyn Hiley	MRL, Matilda Renwick-Lau
DA, Diana Appleton	GO, Graham Oakley	SRL, Sara Renwick-Lau
JB, Jude Benton	YO, Yolande Oakley	GS, Gail Sands
CB, Christy Bryar	JW, Josephine Wohler	DW, Diana Wolfe
MD, Michael Dunne	MS, Mike Smith	PY, Peter York
MG, Martin Goodison		VY, Valerie York

2.5 Apologies

Apologies were received from: Eileen Buckland, Nerissa Bradley, Jan Wiggins, David Wiggins, Gary Proctor

3. DECLARATION OF QUORUM

The Chairman declared that a quorum was present and the Meeting open.

4. DECLARATION OF PROXY VOTES

The Interim Chair, Andrew Roberts declared that 27 Proxies had been received, 4 nominating the Chairman.

5. NOTICE OF MEETING

The Notice of Meeting was made available to all Members and was taken as read.

6. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

No previous minutes were applicable as this was the first Annual General Meeting for MADRA Inc.

7. CHAIRPERSON'S ADDRESS

The Chairman David Appleton delivered his address.

Moved by: Leo Op den Brouw

The Chairman's address is accepted.

Seconded by: Rosie Morton

Carried

Leo Op den Brouw: Achievements of the elected committee are truly outstanding. Speaking on behalf of SES we have achieved a substantial grant that will stand the SES in very good stead into the future and we offer sincere gratitude for all your efforts. The MADRA committee is very highly regarded.

Paris Brooke: Offered a sincere thanks to the MADRA committee for all their hard work and contribution to the community. MADRA committee members were offered seedlings of the 'Betka Bottlebrush', a native plant local to the Mallacoota District, as an offer of thanks.

8. ANNUAL REPORT - FINANCIAL

Graham Dempster: Thank you to Glenda Phillips for all her assistance. MADRA successfully acquired DGR status. Donations have come in, some of which have been used for the Anglesea Camp and for the Skate Park, which is currently sitting with the Lions club as the auspicing body of the Skate Park project. MADRA received a budget of \$75,000 for use over three years from BRV to cover costs such as: stationery, catering, venue hire, Zoom subscription and administrative fees. Thank you to the East Gippsland Shire Council for supplying seed funding soon after the beginning of MADRA.

Three MADRA accounts were set up: 1: Operating Account 2: Donation Account 3: Debit Account.

MADRA funding comes from individuals, organisations, associations, schools, philanthropic foundations and grants.

The Treasurer referred the Meeting to the Association's Financial Report for the year ended 30th June 2021.

MINUTES - Tuesday 17 August 2021, cont.

Page 2 of 3

The Chairman opened the Associations annual Financial Report for discussion: there was one question.

Liza Newby: What will the 182k be spent on?

Graham Dempster: MADRA has no immediate plan. It will be looked at by the new committee and it may need community consultation. This money will fund projects endorsed in the recovery plan.

Moved by: Peter Giddings

The Mallacoota and District Recovery Association Incorporated Financial Annual Report for the year ending 30th June 2021, be received and accepted.

Seconded by: Lester Sturgess

Carried.

9. JOINING AND ANNUAL FEES

The Chairman confirmed the Committee's decision not to initiate joining or annual fees for Mallacoota and District Recovery Association Inc.

Moved by: Cate Tregellas

The Meeting confirms the recommendation of the previous committee that the members resolve there will be no joining or annual fees for the Mallacoota and District Recovery Association for the next financial year.

Seconded by: Joan Kimm

Carried.

10. RESOLUTION OF RULE 53 SUBSECTION 1:

Moved by: Jeanette Obri

The Meeting confirms the acceptance that the number of Ordinary Members on the Mallacoota and District Recovery Association General Committee will remain at up to eight people as it currently stands

Seconded by: Lester Sturgess

Carried.

11. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS AND ORDINARY MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Pre nominations: Kate Cowden, Rosy Morton, Jeanette Obri, Gary Proctor

Nominations open for Office Bearer positions:

- 11.1 Chairperson no nominations position vacant
- 11.2 Deputy Chair no nominations position vacant
- 11.3 Secretary no nominations position vacant
- 11.4 Treasurer Graham Dempster

Nominations open to elect Ordinary Members to the Committee:

11.5 Ordinary Members (up to 8)

Kate Cowden, Rosy Morton, Gary Proctor, Jeanette Obri, Peter Hancock, Bryce Watts-Parker, Paul Preston, Carol Hopkins

Liza Newby was nominated and declined. Leo Op Den Brouw was nominated and declined.

12. CLOSE

The Chairman thanked members for attending MADRA's inaugural Annual General Meeting and advised that light refreshments were available for members immediately after the Meeting closed.

There being no other business the 2021 Annual General Meeting closed at 8:05 pm.